South America

National Parks in Ecuador

Ecuador is a country with some of the most diversity in nature. It is home to the Galapagos and the abundance of endemic species. A larger percentage of the country has been declared protected areas by the government.

Cotopaxi National Park

Cotopaxi National Park in Ecuador is home to Cotopaxi Volcano which is one of the highest volcanoes in the world.

South America / Ecuador
Galapagos National Park

Galapagos National Park accounts for 97% of the land area in the Galapagos Islands featuring giant tortoises and swimming iguanas.

South America / Ecuador
El Cajas National Park

El Cajas National Parks in Ecuador features some of the most striking continental divide landscapes with over 700 bodies of water.

South America / Ecuador
Machalilla National Park

Machalilla National Park in Ecuador delivers some of the beauty and wildlife mystique of the Galapagos Islands while being much easier to access.

South America / Ecuador
Podocarpus National Park

Podocarpus National Park in Ecuador delivers a megadiverse zone with a diversity of flora leading to the nickname, "Botanical Garden of America."

South America / Ecuador
Sangay National Park

Sangay National Park in Ecuador features the symmetrical-coned Sangay volcano and some of the world's richest biodiversity in flora and fauna.

South America / Ecuador

Ecuador National Park FAQs

How many National Parks are there in Ecuador?

There are 11 national parks sprawled across this smaller but amazing country of Ecudaor.

What is the largest national park in Ecudaor?

Yasuni National Park largest national park in Ecuador. It covers an area of 3,793 sqare miles (9,824 sq km). 

What is the smallest national park in Ecuador?

El Cajas National Park is the smallest national park in the country. It covers an area of 110 square miles (285 sq km).

What was the first national park in Ecuador?

Galapagos National Park was the first national park in Ecuador.  It was established in 1959.

What percentage of Ecuador is protected land?

Approximately 20 percent of the country's terriorty is under national protection with much of these protected areas accounted for by the national parks.


Ecuador is located in the northeastern part of South America, however the country also includes the Galapagos Islands located well off the western coast.  The country covers 109,484 square miles (283,561 sq km) of territory.

Ecuador is bordered by Peru to the east and south and Colombia on the norther border.  The Pacific Ocean accounts for the remainder of the country's border.  It is situated on the equator.

Ecuador has the greatest biodiversity per square mile (sq km) than any other nation in the world.  Conservation International has identified the country as one of seventeen megadiverse countries.  It is home to 15 percent of the world's bird species with approximatley 1,600 species.  The Galapgaos account for 38 that are endemic.  Additionally, there are 16,000 species of vegetation which serve as the perfect habitat for 6,000 species of butterflies.

There are 138 endemic amphibians and 106 endemic reptiles.  In recognition of this diversity and its importance, the country was the first to establish a constitution for the rights of nature.